10W RF PA for my PIC WSPR TX

The G3XBM 472KHz 630m Transverter works very nicely, trouble is Transverters don’t last long for me in the shack, no I don’t blow them up, I just find them inconvenient. The Rig that drives it gets tied up, the level has to be set carefully so as not to overdrive, the computer needs to be on for WSPR use, the whole set up doesn’t meet the QRP criteria.

Fine if that’s the only way you can do it, but for real QRP, I have the home brew kit. Upping the PA to some 10W RF certainly extends the MF range, on MF with the antenna inefficiency this is still QRP.

Talking to G6AVK the other day I mentioned Electronics as an Art Form, I like to built neatly, some say who cares if it works, both arguments are valid.
I think this picture would make a nice RF site background / wallpaper.

Both pictures are large, Right Click and select View Image to view full size, I don’t mind you seeing the hairs on my coil formers.

When you find a design is stable and repeatable with some neat little features it would be silly to abandon it. This PA is based on the G3XBM one, I kept the relay less T/R switch option, in the final version, after this picture, I have changed the gate drive to make it more suitable to be driven by my PIC, QRSS, CW and Opera drive modules. Also the drive method is more fail safe.

Leave a comment